Register for SkillBuild 2018

SkillBuild is the largest multi-trade competition in the UK for construction trainees and apprentices. Registrations for the 2018 competition have now opened and will close at 5pm, Saturday 7 April.

Register now for the Regional Qualifier competitions

You can enter as either a New Entrant or at Advanced Level depending on your experience.

You should then follow the instructions to complete the registration form.

Registration will close at 5pm on Saturday 7 April. Applications will not be accepted after this time.

You can find out more about the competition on the FAQ page for SkillBuild.

If you need any help please contact us at

Which category should you enter?

  • New Entrant - designed as an introduction to competitions. Suited to Level 1 students
  • Advanced - aimed at Level 2 and Level 3 competitors

What is SkillBuild?

The leading construction skills competition in the UK, SkillBuild covers 10 craft occupations:

  • Bricklaying
  • Carpentry
  • Furniture and Cabinet Making
  • Joinery
  • Painting and Decorating
  • Plastering
  • Plastering and Drywall Systems
  • Roof Slating and Tiling
  • Stonemasonry
  • Wall and Floor Tiling
SkillBuild competitor

Regional Qualifier competitions

During spring and summer Regional Qualifiers are held across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland to decide who will take part in the UK National Final in November.

For competitors involved in the Advanced competitions, the results from each of the heats are combined, and the highest scoring competitors overall invited to take part in the UK National Final.

The Regional Qualifiers will be held at the following locations:

  • Friday 23 March - North West Regional College (Limavady Campus), Northern Ireland*
  • Thursday 26 April - Newcastle College (Rye Hill Campus), North East
  • Thursday 3 May - City of Liverpool College (Vauxhall Road), North West
  • Wednesday 9 May - Bath College (Somer Valley Campus), South West
  • Thursday 10 May - NCC Midlands (Lifford Lane), Midlands
  • Thursday 17 May - South and City College Birmingham (Bordesley Green Campus), Midlands
  • Friday 18 May - Bolton College (Deane Road Campus), North West
  • Tuesday 22 May - City of Glasgow College (City Campus), Scotland
  • Thursday 24 May - Forth Valley College (Drip Road), Scotland
  • Thursday 7 June - Leeds College of Building (Hunslet Campus), North
  • Thursday 7 June - Ealing, Hammersmith and West London College (Gunnersbury Lane), London
  • Thursday 14 June - South Devon College (Vantage Point), South West
  • Tuesday 19 June - Easton and Otley College (Otley Campus), East
  • Thursday 21 June - York College (Sim Balk Lane), North
  • Tuesday 26 June - Brighton MET (East Campus), South East
  • Thursday 28 June - Leicester College (Freeman's Park Campus), Central England
  • Wednesday 4 July - NCC Erith (Manor Road), London
  • Thursday 5 July - Coleg Sir Gar (Ammanford), Wales*

* Restricted competition entry (please contact  for further information)

Registration to compete opened at 9am Thursday 1 March 2018

SkillBuild is delivered by the Construction Industry Training Board (CITB) and details of how to enter are on the CITB website.

Find out more on the CITB website